17.—Distribution of Quebec Hydro Primary Power, by Customer Group, 1953-59

System	1953	1954	1955	1956	1957	1958	1959
	hp.	hp.	hp.	hp.	hp.	hp.	hp.
Montreal	997,000	1,117,000	1,230,000	1,351,000	1,436,000	1,617,000	1,698,000
Beauharnois (local)	213,000	154,000	106,000	138,000	265,000	253,000	255,000
Beauharnois (Hydro)	250,000	250,000	250,000	250,000	250,000	267,000	261,000
Massena	75.000 r	75.000 r	75.000 r	75,000 r	75,000	75,000	75.000
Shawinigan Water and Power Com-		1	101			6	
nany	23,000	40,000	40,000	100.000	198.000	276.000	359.000
Gatineau		-		20,000	30,000	37,000	50,000
Gasne	_	_	_	_	35,000	41,000	48,000
Northwestern					86,000	86,000	85,000
Chibourgaman					15,000	19,000	25,000
Northeastern (local)	-	-	-	_			70,000
Totals	1,558,000r	1,636,000r	1,701,000	1,944,000	2,390,000	2,671,000	2,926,000

(Coincident with Montreal System peak)

The Commission delivers some 30,000 hp. on the south shore of the St. Lawrence River in the Gaspe area—power from its Bersimis plants transmitted across the River through a 69-kv. submarine cable, over a distance of 34 miles. The Commission also purchases about 25,000 hp. from Saguenay Transmission Company for delivery to mining companies in the Chibougamau area. It has completed the construction of a storage reservoir on the Toulnustouc River, a tributary of the Manicouagan River on the North Shore. The Lac Ste. Anne reservoir, as it is called, will permit regulation and control of the flow of the Lower Manicouagan River.

Power plant construction recently completed and under way in Quebec is outlined at pp. 608-609.

Ontario.—The Hydro-Electric Power Commission of Ontario is a corporate entity, a self-sustaining public enterprise endowed with broad powers with respect to the supply of electricity throughout the Province of Ontario. Its authority is derived from an Act of the Provincial Legislature passed in 1906 to give effect to recommendations of earlier advisory commissions that the water powers of Ontario should be conserved and developed for the benefit of the people of the province. It now operates under the Power Commission Act (SO 1907, c. 19) passed in 1907 as an amplification of the Act of 1906 and subsequently modified from time to time (RSO 1950, c. 281, as amended). In addition to administering the enterprise over which it has direct control, the Commission exercises certain regulatory functions with respect to the province-wide group of municipal electrical utilities which it serves.

The Commission may have from three to six members, all of whom are appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council. One commissioner must be, and a second commissioner may be, a member of the Executive Council of the Province of Ontario. In the conduct of the Commission's affairs, the commissioners are responsible for, and are the final authority in, establishing policy.

The basic principle governing the financial operations of the Commission and its associated municipal utilities is that electrical service is provided at cost. The Commission interprets cost as including payments for power purchased, charges for operating and maintaining the power systems, and related fixed charges. The fixed charges represent interest on debt, provisions for depreciation, allocations to reserves for contingencies and rate stabilization, and the further provision of a sinking fund reserve for retiring the Commission's capital debt. While the enterprise from its inception has been self-sustaining, the province guarantees the payment of principal and interest on all bonds issued by the Commission and held by the public. In addition, over a period of nearly forty years the province has materially assisted the development of agriculture by contributing half the capital cost of rural distribution facilities.